California Passes Cosmetic Animal Testing Ban


Event Title

08h00 - 16h30

Event Location

Print Bulletin PDF

On August 31, 2018, the California Senate passed the first ban of animal testing on cosmetic products in the United States. SB-1249 states that, on or after January 1, 2020 cosmetics “developed or manufactured using an animal test that was conductedby the manufacturer, or any supplier of the manufacturer” will be prohibited in California.

The ban does not apply to: 

1. “An animal test of any cosmetic that is required by a federal or state regulatory authority if all of the following apply:

    a. The ingredient is in wide use and cannot be replaced by another ingredient capable of performing a similar function.

    b. A specific human health problem is substantiated and the need to conduct animal tests is justified and is supported by a detailed research protocol proposed as the basis for the evaluation.

    c. There is not a nonanimal alternative method accepted for the relevant endpoint by the relevant federal or state regulatory authority.

2. “An animal test that was conducted to comply with a requirement of a foreign regulatory authority, if no evidence derived from the test was relied upon to substantiate the safety of the cosmetic sold in California by the manufacturer.

3. “An animal test that was conducted on any product or ingredient subject to the requirements of Chapter V of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 351 et seq.).

4. “An animal test that was conducted for noncosmetic purposes in response to a requirement of a federal, state, or foreign regulatory authority, if no evidence derived from the test was relied upon to substantiate the safety of the cosmetic sold in California by the manufacturer. A manufacturer is not prohibited from reviewing, assessing, or retaining evidence from an animal test conducted pursuant to this paragraph.”

It should also be noted that the ban does not apply to cosmetic products when the product was sold in California or tested on animals prior to January 1, 2020, even if the product is manufactured after that date. Likewise, it does not apply to ingredients if the ingredient was sold in California or tested on animals prior to January 1, 2020, even if the ingredient was manufactured after that date. 

This is the second law that California has passed impacting cosmetic products this August. On August 28,  AB-2775 passed, requiring professional cosmetic products to disclose ingredients in the same manner as consumer products effective July 1, 2020. Per the Federal cosmetic requirements, professional products are exempt from ingredient disclosure requirements. 

Click to view SB-1249:  

Click to view AB-2775: 

How Does this Impact You? Contact Us to Discuss

Our knowledgeable professionals can design a program to meet your specific needs - whether it be to demonstrate quality and safety control, identify which product offers the best value, which product your customers prefer, or if the product meets your quality requirements. 

For over 35 years, Bureau Veritas has worked successfully with top retailers and manufacturers around the world to help them better manage risk and regulatory compliance. If you have any questions, please contact your customer service representative or email:

Contact Us


Consumer Products Services
Send an e-mail


Need help or have a question?
Share on :
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China (Peoples' Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fidji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French West Indies
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint- Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa (Rep.)
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Other Websites
  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • South East Asia
Choose your industry, asset and / or service need
Your Industry

Your Asset

Our Services