Certification Of Wind Turbines And Components

Certification Of Wind Turbines And Components

Based on IEC 61400 series: the IEC international standard for wind turbines


The wind energy market is undergoing a rapid expansion and is expected to continue this trend over the medium term

with support from the market framework, local policies and economic attractiveness. As the wind energy industry

continues to prosper, an increasing number of manufacturers are entering the field. Certification is essential to distinguish

which manufacturers offer products that meet relevant standards and codes.


What is type certification?

Type Certification is to confirm that the wind turbine type is designed, documented and manufactured in conformity with

design assumptions, specific standards and other technical requirements. This improves confidence of all stakeholders in

the safety and performance of the wind turbine.


Which turbines do type certifications apply to?

Type Certification applies to a series of wind turbines of common design and manufacture.


Who does type certification address?

It is addressed to manufacturers of components (blades, gear boxes, towers, etc.) and wind turbines.


Confidence in your design - Certification of the rotor blades by a recognised, independent third party provides assurance to all stakeholders that new optimized blade designs are safe and fully compliant with international standards and state-of-the-art industry practices.


International recognition - Bureau Veritas Certification France is accredited for the certification of wind turbine type and component by COFRAC* for IEC 61400 standards. Bureau Veritas Certification France is also recognized as a certification body by IECRE. Upon request, Bureau Veritas Certification France can certify against other specific standards.


*COFRAC accreditation for “Certification of Products and Services” N°5-0051, list of sites and scope available on www.cofrac.fr


The certification scheme used by Bureau Veritas Certification is based on IEC 61400. This set of standards, born from a consensus between major wind energy actors, is standardized, public and independent. The process chosen by Bureau Veritas Certification is modular, allowing conformity assessment reports and conformity statements to be issued for each module assessed. Completing the set of conformity assessment reports and conformity statements for all modules assessed provides the final type certificate. The certification process is the following:

Why Choose Bureau Veritas?

  • Reputation - Created in 1828, Bureau Veritas is a global leader in Testing, Inspection and Certification, delivering high quality services to help clients meet the growing challenges of quality, safety, environmental protection and social responsibility.
  • Knowledge and expertise -  Evaluations are performed by experienced engineers operating under a controlled quality system. Bureau Veritas Certification France’s expertise is acknowledged by the COFRAC accreditation and recognized by the IECRE
  • Global network -  With more than 66,000 employees in 1,400 offices and laboratories covering 140 countries, Bureau Veritas is able to act quickly on its clients’ behalf anywhere in the world. Our inspectors will always be close to your sites, allowing for a greater reactivity and reduced transportation costs.
  • Customer focus -  Bureau Veritas’ core values include integrity and ethics, impartial counsel and validation, customer focus and safety at work. As a trusted partner, Bureau Veritas offers innovative solutions that go beyond simple compliance with regulations and standards, reducing risk, improving performance and promoting sustainable development.

Contact Us

Bureau Veritas Certification France

+33 1 55 24 76 94

Send an e-mail
Request for a quote

Click here
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China (Peoples' Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fidji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French West Indies
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint- Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa (Rep.)
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Other Websites
  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • South East Asia
Choose your industry, asset and / or service need
Your Industry

Your Asset

Our Services