Download Pdf

Statutory Certification of Ships

Ensuring conformity with national and international regulations

Business Challenge

Vessels involved in international trade must conform with the international regulations on safety, security and environmental protection contained within various IMO (International Maritime Organization) instruments. The implementation and enforcement of these regulations are under the responsibility of each Flag State which may delegate all or part of its powers to Recognized Organisations (ROs) such as Bureau Veritas. Moreover, as ships become bigger and more complex, only classification societies like Bureau Veritas have the necessary technical skills to inspect and survey them wherever they operate, with a highly competent worldwide network.


What is statutory certification of ships?
A total of 140 national administrations recognize Bureau Veritas as an official certification body. They delegate part of their authority to Bureau Veritas to verifying implementation of national and
international regulations for marine safety and environmental protection. These include such international conventions as Safety Of Life At Sea (SOLAS), Load Lines (LL), Prevention of Marine Pollution from ships (MARPOL) and Tonnage Measurements. Bureau Veritas performs inspections and issues statutory certification on behalf of Governments. This service includes design review, certification of materials and equipment, and survey of installation. It is possible for ship owners to get Bureau Veritas to survey the ship for statutory requirements at the same time as it is surveying it for class requirements, and class can then issue the statutory certificates on behalf of the Flag administration.

What are the key benefits?
Reassurance of vessel conformity, ensuring licence to operate for ship owner. Increased cost-efficiency through simultaneous surveys for both class and statutory requirements. Simplicity of approach, benefiting both Governments and ship owners. Contributes to protection of human life and marine environments.

Why Choose Bureau Veritas?

Network - The worldwide Bureau Veritas network has more than 2,000 high qualified marine surveyors, specialized in the implementation of safety, security, and protection of environment rules and standards, operating in 180 survey stations in 90 countries.
ISM certification - Bureau Veritas is recognized by 125 Flag State authorities and maritime
administrations for the issuing of Documents of Compliance to companies and of Safety Management Certificates to ships according to the ISM Code.
ISPS certification - Bureau Veritas is already recognised by several Governments as a Recognized Security  Organization (RSO) for certifying implementation of the ISPS Code.
EU (European Union) Marine Equipment certification - Bureau Veritas can provide services to ship owners, shipyards and equipment manufacturers everywhere in relation to the EU marine equipment conformity mark.
Type approval certification - Bureau Veritas is also authorized by the Maritime and Coastguard Agency (UK), AMSA (Australia) and MMF (France) to issue national type approval certificates.

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is your class involvement into the ISPS process?

    Owners of BV class ships have benefited from Bureau Veritas services when the ISPS Code became mandatory in July 2004. Bureau Veritas trained over 110 auditors and was granted RSO status by 50 Flag States. It was able to audit and certify 2,100 ships and 19 port facilities, and it trained 2,500 ship and company security officers, ensuring its clients moved smoothly through the security process.

Contact Us

Marine Division

Send an e-mail
Request for a quote

Click here
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China (Peoples' Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fidji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French West Indies
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint- Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa (Rep.)
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Other Websites
  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • South East Asia
Choose your industry, asset and / or service need
Your Industry

Your Asset

Our Services